P.S.Pudyastuti's Lovely Rooms…

Learning is a long-life process, so it's never late to learn…

COOKING

Leave a comment

Cooking is one of my hobbies. When I was young, I was tomboy (maybe right now I still look like a tomboy) and maybe none of my friend recognised that I could cook. People who didn’t know me closely would not believe that I could cook. But it doesn’t matter, just don’t judge the book by its cover !!

In fact, I like cooking since I was a teenager. When I was a kid, my parent paid a domestic assistant to accompany me and my siblings when my parents were at work. We called her “Mbake”. “Mbake” also cooked for us. But at a certain time, I suddenly didn’t want to eat anything she cooked. I was only interested to eat any food cooked by my mother. Since then, I had to learn to cook because as a teacher who also involved in scouting and some social activities, my mother was so busy, and sometimes had no time to cook. Since I was not interested to eat any foods cooked by “Mbake”, I had to cook by myself when my mother was very busy. Thanks to “Mbake” who triggered me to learn to cook.

I learned to cook from my mother, my grandmother, and my aunt. Thanks God for giving me such great mother, grandmother, and aunt. Without them, I will never be good at cooking. In this modern world, it is true that I can get any kind of recipes from the internet easily, but for me, original recipes from my mother, grandmother and aunt are unbeatable. They have influenced me in cooking significantly. Now I am pretty good at cooking, and I am proud of myself when my hubby and kids said that I am the best chef for them…🙂.

Some people said that cooking is complicated, time consuming, and old-fashioned. For those who never cook, no doubt that cooking can be complicated and may be time consuming. But actually, cooking is not that complicated, and we also can learn to manage the time when we cook. If we look deeply at what cooking is about, actually cooking is a step-by-step activity that involves many practical skills such as planning, thinking ahead, awareness, aesthetic, time management, budgeting, measurement, safety procedure, conscientious, healthy eating habits, cleanliness, and much more.

Cooking is not only useful for a mum, but it’s also useful for kids. Kids can learn some school subjects through cooking, such as mathematic, language, and sciences, with supervision from their parent. Cooking can help children learning about physical and social skill as well. This site provides useful information about learning through cooking for children. Cooking is really not just about preparing food, it’s more than that. So, do not be shy to learn to cook.

Purwanti Sri Pudyastuti, Newcastle upon Tyne.

Author: P.S.Pudyastuti

I am an academic staff at Civil Engineering Department, Faculty of Engineering, Universitas Muhammadiyah Surakarta - Indonesia. I got my Bachelor Degree (ST) from Gadjah Mada University, Indonesia, and Master Degree (M.Sc) from Loughborough University, England. I am married and have got 3 children.

Leave a Reply

